George And The Unbreakable Code by Lucy and Stephen Hawking – Spoiler-Free Book Review

I’ve loved anything Universe from a very young age. First, there was astronomy and then it was physics. After that, I discovered Stephen Hawking and it turned into astrophysics. The world’s an amazing place. That’s why, when I saw this book, I knew I really wanted to read it. Middle school literature may not be what’s usually on the blog, but I had to include this review, since the book has been extremely enjoyable.

george-and-the-unbreakable-code-9781481466271_hr.jpg

Summary

George and his best friend Annie haven’t had any space adventures for a while and they’re missing the excitement. But not for long…

Seriously strange things start happening. Banks are handing out free money; supermarkets can’t charge for their produce so people are getting free food; and aircraft are refusing to fly. It looks like the world’s biggest and best computers have all been hacked.

George and Annie will travel further into space than ever before in order to find out who is behind it.

Writing

I’ve read a translation, so I can’t really comment on the vocab, but the pace was nice and the scientific passages were informative (and it made me proud that I knew the facts beforehand). I managed to get really immersed in the story, it was really nice!

Characters

Although nothing breathtaking, Lucy Hawking’s characters are very quirky and fun. Out of Annie and George, I think I liked Annie better- mostly for how we were shown both an empathic and an analytical side of her, which really gave her character dimension.

Plot

It was quite interesting! Space adventures, detective work and sneaking up so the parents won’t see- it’s an entertaining book that’s bound to keep you hooked.

General & Rating

Although I can’t really say I’ve found the book extremely remarkable in any way, I do believe it’s a very great middle school read- and I’d recommend it in a heartbeat. Although I’ve given it 4/5 on GoodReads, I have now rethought and decided to rate it Acceptable, more commonly known as 3/5 stars. It’s a cozy read, perfect for a rainy day in.


That was it for today! I hope you enjoyed this little sketch-type review that also stands for day eighteen of #ABJ! As always, you can shop the book here and let me know in the comments below what your thoughts are!

Thanks for reading, friends!

Andrea.

Leave a Reply

