How To Be A Bawse by Lilly Singh – Book Review

bawse

noun

  1. a person who exudes confidence, hustles relentlessly, reaches goals and smiles genuinely because he or she has fought through it all and made it out the other side.

Hello, guys! This will be less of a book review and more of a rant, since the book we’re discussing today is more of a self-help book. I’ve read this book way back in May, but until today, I just couldn’t bring myself up to writing it. Don’t get me wrong, it’s definitely not because I didn’t enjoy it, but more so because I didn’t figure out how to around it.

Lilly-Singh-600-x-600-image

Yep, I just decided to wing it.

Okay, the first thing I need to bring you up to date with is the writer: Lilly Saini Singh. She’s also known as iiSuperwomanii on social media platforms and is a genuine unicorn (you’ll find her links at the end of the post).

And that’s just about what you’ll get of me trying not to fangirl over her.

81e1a9c896eca2f5aee8ae54e14ae125.gif

Thing is, I’ve been a part of Team Super for a year now- I’ve discovered Lilly’s videos during the summer before my sophomore year, and it’s been a wild ride ever since. When she announced her book, my heart legitimately skipped a beat (or thirty). Two things I love in this world- Lilly and books, together? Merged into a beautiful package? I needed that.

However, facts state I live in Eastern Europe, shipping prices are extremely high and I don’t have a steady income. That’s why, no matter how much it killed me, I couldn’t preorder the book. I retweeted everything Lilly posted, supported her book as best as I could (on the Twitter fan account I created, God bless my poor heart), but that was as much as I could do.

That was, of course, until the Comic-Con rolled around! I was able to get her book at a bargain price, really, and I was so excited! Of course I went home and started reading it within seconds of arriving. Ever since, this review has been on and off my mind- the time has come to get around to it.

cropped-LillySingh_Header_2-1

Aesthetic

One thing that drew me to Lilly in the first place is her bubbly, unicorn, happy and Skittles-ridden aesthetic. She spreads positivity and smiles for a living, and that’s great! It’s also a thing that’s reflected in the book. Although I’ve had people telling me the book looks immature because of the color scheme, all I had to do to change their minds was throw some quotes their way- they immediately changed their minds.

Writing

Written in a very similar way to the way her inspirational and motivational videos are plotted, it was a refreshing style that really grew on me. I loved how she’s referenced a few of her videos or even redid some simple exercises from some of them. Absolutely loved it!

Message

Probably the most important thing of this entire book. What this book will help you achieve is, the way I see it, helping you with the process of self-love as well as helping you better yourself. Who’s to say you can’t love who you are but still want to improve? I’ll leave the table of contents speak for me, as it is highly self-explanatory. The four chapters are, respectively: Master your mind, Hustle Harder, Make Heads Turn and Be a unicorn.

They’re filled with her usual sass and spirited speech but, of course, they’re focused around learning you how to conquer life.

General & Ratings

Do I really need to say it? A solid 5/5, Outstanding, name it however you want! I remember Lilly saying she doesn’t want people buying her book just because they’re her fans, no matter how grateful she is for it. Here’s the thing- although I did find out about the book by being a Team Super member, I didn’t buy it just because of that. I bought it because I knew it was going to help me- I bought it because I genuinely wanted to read it and take something useful out of it- and it was a journey I can’t possibly regret. Thank you, Lilly, for writing this! And thank you, Team Super, for the wonderful year I’ve spent with you lot!

cb003ab5744774440c958b9d4012d131.jpg

P.S.: She has this dope book trailer I’ll leave right here– you definitely have to check it out!


Shop the book here and find Lilly’s social media handles below!

Thank you for reading and I’ll see you on the next day of #ABJ! I’ll be off rereading the book roughly fifty times!

Andrea.

Leave a Reply

