5 Pet Peeves Every Reader Faces

Reading is one of the most pleasing experiences a human can partake in. Most of the times, it’s lovely and requires little to no stressing about anything else other than the task at hand- a wonderful tome to get lost into. However, I think we can all agree that there are certain things regarding the wonderful activity of reading that can be messed with, in order to diminish the said pleasure.

That, of course, is the inspiration behind today’s post: reader pet peeves.

  1. Spoilers.

Spoilers

I’ve written a blog post on it and made my opinion clear every time the topic arose: spoilers are the bane of my existence and I’m absolutely sure a lot of you can relate. They pop up everywhere and do absolutely nothing to help anyone involved.

  1. Mistreating books.

giphy

How do people do that? It legitimately hurts my soul whenever I mistakenly bend the spine of a paperback, or when I happen to somehow damage the book in any other way. How do people willingly and consciously do that? It’s a mystery I’ll never unveil.

P.S.: People who do that with book you’ve lent them are even worse- don’t get me started, or I’ll rant forever.

  1. Reading slumps.

tumblr_inline_mz0kf1rhmv1re6y31

Every reader’s been through one- they’re horrible, terrifying and make you rethink your entire reading career. However, there’s nothing better than the feeling of escaping said slump- there’s a positive outlook on everything!

  1. Tropes that just need to stop.

tumblr_ob5fw5aIuv1tc8piko1_400

For example, one of my most hated YA tropes it the seemingly ever present love triangle- if I find it in a book, there’s an 80% chance of me not liking said book and rating it with less than 3/5.

  1. Situations that don’t allow you to read when you’ve reached an earth shattering plot twist.

200

Say, a social outing or a family reunion. I can’t ever be sneaky enough to read on my phone because I’ll be dubbed as extremely impolite, even if I’m not actively partaking in the conversation.


That’s it for today’s post! I hope you enjoyed day fourteen of #ABJ! I still can’t believe we’re two weeks in already, but I’m glad I was able to keep the schedule up! Do you have any other reader pet peeves I’ve missed? Make sure to drop them below! And, if you’re feeling extremely lovely, make sure to drop a like and a follow!

Again, thanks for reading!

Andrea.

4 thoughts on “5 Pet Peeves Every Reader Faces

    • Andrea says:

      Ahhh, that’s so true! Most of the time, however, it’s still extremely lovely! ^^ Gotta power through the bad sides to get to the good ones!
      Thanks for reading!
      Andrea x

      Like

Leave a Reply

