Being The Bookish Friend

Another post I’ve had in my archives for a while; since writing this post, a lot of things happened. I graduated my sophomore year, dyed my hair and discovered tiny wonders this world dug out of the Universe: e-books (so I don’t have to lend everyone books). That being said, enjoy!


I love books.

In fact, just the other day I told Dad how I’d be the happiest person on the planet if I could spend the entirety of my life talking about books. Ah, it’d be a dream come true. However, since I love talking about books so much, I tend to let everyone know that reading is my favorite pastime. And that comes with consequences.

I’m everybody’s library.

Seriously- it’s like that even with family members. It reached the point where I have to keep an inventory of the books I lent away. Conversations with the mentioned end point usually go like this: “Hey Andrea, do you happen to have this book?” “Oh, yeah, I just finished reading it!” “You don’t suppose I could have it for a little while, right?” Sigh. If I’d have a penny for every time I told my friends to be careful with my paperbacks’ spines, I could have moved to LA by now.

My suggestions get turned down a lot.

I mean, yes, most of the time they involve books in one way or the other, but that doesn’t mean they shouldn’t even consider them! Thankfully, there will probably be a bookstore in whatever place we decide on going- I always wind up showing them there’s no stopping me.

I always get books as gifts- and love it.

However, this aspect is a double edged sword. I’ve received a lot of books I have absolutely no interest in. That completely ruins the entire point of reading! I’ve considered finally sitting down and writing a list of all the books on my TBR I haven’t yet acquired and hand it to people trying to find me a gift. I still think that’s the best way to solve the problem.

On another note, getting a book I’m not interested in doesn’t happen often, so getting books as gifts is still amazingly awesome.

Everyone dismisses my heartache.

Ah, the cruel “it’s just a book”. Every reader’s been through it. Starting from family members to new friends, it varies in the amount of hurt it produces. However, when I’m staring at my ceiling at 2am because I’ve just finished a book I’ve been waiting to read for a few months, you can’t just dismiss my feelings like that. It’s rude and very inconsiderate.


That brings this post to an end- I hope you enjoyed and let me know your thoughts in the comments below! Thank you for reading and see you tomorrow!

Andrea.

2 thoughts on “Being The Bookish Friend

Leave a Reply

