The Night is Darkening Round Me by Emily Bronte – Book Chat [spoiler-free]

Hello, lovelies! Andrea here, hoping you’ve been well since last I posted!

Now, if you’ve read my book fair haul or my June Wrap-Up, you’ve noticed three tiny, adorably aesthetic books amongst them- three Penguin Little Black Classics. Today’s post revolves around one of them- Emily Bronte’s The Night is Darkening Round Me, a book I absolutely loved.

dav

It is a collection of poems, with themes varying from death and the passage of time to nature’s beauty. They’re written in a straightforward yet metaphorical manner. The book is, quite naturally, very lyrical and it manages to get the reader thinking.

“The night is darkening round me,
The wild winds coldly blow;
But a tyrant spell has bound me,
And I cannot, cannot go.”

I went into the book quite reluctantly, despite it being recommended to me by a trusted fellow reader. I knew myself not be very appreciative of poems, especially since I was- and still am, in a fantasy reading mood. However, this short collection definitely managed to open my eyes to a new world. As soon as the fall comes and I’ll probably go on a classics marathon, I’ll make sure to read Emily Bronte’s other surviving work, Wuthering Heights.

That was it for this post, I really hope you enjoyed it! If you did, make sure to subscribe to the newsletter and, if you feel like it, drop me a like. Let me know what you thought in the comments below, and I’ll see you tomorrow for day six of #ABJ!

Keep reading!

Andrea x

Leave a Reply

