June Wrap-Up & July TBR

Hey, guys! June came and went and, as the days flew by, I found myself reading quite the bit. If you’ve read my June TBR, you’ll know I set quite the high goals for myself. I can’t say I’m perfectly proud of the amount of reading I did, but I do have every plan to catch up during July. However, let’s first get through the June Wrap-Up. This month, I read a grand total of 10 books.

DSC08470

I couldn’t possibly hope to rank them, but I’d say definite favorites are Sarah J. Maas’ ACOWAR and Nora Sakavic’s All For The Game­– they are both gripping books that I wasn’t able to put down, albeit completely different. While ACOWAR is a high fantasy, AFTG is a realistic fiction. I will definitely be holding them near my heart for a while. As you can see, compared to the rather huge TBR I set for myself, I haven’t really managed to come near. However, I do have some excuses.

In regards to Viet Thanh Nguyen’s The Sympathizer, the writing style just… wasn’t for me. For starters, there are no quotation marks to signal a character’s speech, which gets really confusing after a while. Another con for me is that the novel is a historical fiction circling around the life of a double spy- which, at the time I purchased, sounded quite amazing. Now, however, I’ve found myself feeling more like high fantasy. Which brings me to my next point.

In regards to Leigh Bardugo’s Six Of Crows, I’ve acquired the Grisha trilogy in between writing the TBR and actually getting to read the duology. I’ve since been told there are spoilers for the ending of the Grisha trilogy in between the pages of Six of Crows, seeing as the latter is a companion series of the former. That being said, both Six Of Crows and the Grisha trilogy will be featured in July’s TBR.

Moving on, I’ll bring you this month’s TBR.

  • The Grisha Trilogy by Leigh Bradugo & its companion novellas;
  • Six Of Crows and Crooked Kingdom by Leigh Bardugo;
  • Divergent series by Veronica Roth;
  • The Last Olympian by Rick Riordan;
  • Heroes of Olympus series by Rick Riordan;
  • Magnus Chase and The Gods Of Asgard by Rick Riordan;
  • The Raven Cycle by Maggie Stiefvater;

Wish me luck in completing my task this month! I’ll hopefully do better than I did in June, especially since school is officially done now. I get a feeling I’ll get through a lot of them easily, though, since a lot of them are in ebook format.

I hope you enjoyed this post! If you did, make sure to like and subscribe to the newsletter for more similar posts. This month, I’ll be doing Andrea’s Bookish July, where I publish a post every day in July (find out all about it here). If you’re interested, make sure to keep updated- I’m posting regularly on my socials, too- find them below.

Thanks for reading! I’ll see you tomorrow!

Andrea.

5 thoughts on “June Wrap-Up & July TBR

    • Andrea says:

      Aaaaa, thank you!
      I’m really glad you found a book, and don’t worry! Reading, for me, comes like second nature, and being in school and now having a summer break blesses me with heaps of free time. So that’s why and how I read so much!
      Thank you again, for reading and leaving the comment!
      Andrea x

      Like

Leave a Reply

