Fangirl by Rainbow Rowell – Book Review

It was roughly two weeks ago that I finished reading one of the most wonderful books I’ve read these last few months. As I’m certain you can tell from the title, I’m talking about Fangirl by Rainbow Rowell.

Summary

From the first chapter we see that the book is written in Cath’s perspective. After you get a little drawn in by the story, you’ll find out that she’s a college freshman, studying for a degree in creative writing. She manages to balance school, reading, hanging out with the close friends she has (Levi and Reagan) and being a very passionate fangirl. We soon learn that Cath has a twin, Wren. We also learn that while they used to be very close before college started, a sudden shift in Wren’s lifestyle makes them drift apart.

It’s a story filled with awkward encounters, amazing character development, solving familial issues and learning to live a balanced life. It has plot turns and it feels very real and very engaging. I could swear I personally knew Cath by the last page- which, by the way, cannot possibly be the ending. I think I speak for all the readers when I say that we need more of Cath’s story.

Writing

This was the first book I’ve read from Rainbow Rowell and I had the fortune of reading it in the very language it was written: English. Looking back to when I bought it, I’m glad I chose this over the translation- I’m quite sure it couldn’t have lived up to the original.

In short, Rainbow Rowell’s writing is absolutely stunning and I don’t think I could ever get tired of it. It isn’t fancy and it isn’t too basic- it flows perfectly. I’m doing my best to get my hands on more of her writing because it’s amazing. The way she writes makes the reader feel that the characters might as well fly right out of the book and start casually chatting by their side.

Her character interactions feel real- the struggles they go through are relatable and you can definitely see through the character’s eyes. There isn’t really a villain and there isn’t really a hero- which brings us to the next aspect.

Characters

They’re funny, entertaining and all have a healthy dose of self-irony. Well-developed and thought out, they’re very close to feeling like real people. Of course, they aren’t (sadly) but they definitely go through some stuff.

The characters make mistakes, they’re imperfect and, above all, they’re human and react accordingly. Sometimes, the reaction is a good and positive one. Otherwise, characters react in a not-so-wonderful way because they don’t have all the information or because they just went ahead and assumed things that weren’t real. Again, they feel real, just like any other character should feel like.

Plot

The plot, as you can probably tell from the summary, places this story under the Realistic Fiction genre. It’s a story about a girl that goes into her first year of college and faces certain situations and people that have an impact on her. It can be positive and it can be negative.

I don’t want to spoil the story, so I’ll stick to saying that while reading, I didn’t notice any plot holes. Looking back on the book, I’m confident that every loose end got tied up by the end and yet, Rainbow Rowell still managed to blow our minds with the ending.

The plot does have some unexpected turns at times- however, they only serve to further engage you in the book. Even if I couldn’t read the book in one siting, I’m pretty sure that it can be done despite the otherwise intimidating number of 445 pages.

Quotes

“I don’t trust anybody. Not anybody. And the more that I care about someone, the more sure I am they’re going to get tired of me and take off.”

“In new situations, all the trickiest rules are the ones nobody bothers to explain to you. (And the ones you can’t Google.)”

“To really be a nerd, she’d decided, you had to prefer fictional worlds to the real one.”

“Underneath this veneer of slightly crazy and mildly socially retarded, I’m a complete disaster.”

“Real life was something happening in her peripheral vision.”

General + Ratings

Am I allowed to give this book 6 stars? Because I would, in a heartbeat. It was brilliant and I loved every second of it. I honestly didn’t want it to ever end. A well-deserved 5 stars / “Outstanding” from me.

I only have one objection: the ending. Seriously, that ending can’t be the last piece of writing we get from this book. If I remember correctly (and I do, I just checked), Rainbow Rowell said that she is “not quite done with these characters”. If there’s any news about a sequel that I’m not aware of, do please leave me the info below.

Have you read the book? Are you planning on doing so? What are your thoughts? Let me know in the comments below!

I hope you enjoyed and I’ll see you on the next one!

Keep hustling x

Andrea.

P.S.: If you want to stay up to date on my bookish journeys, make sure to follow my Goodreads account!

Also, you can find Rainbow Rowell on her Twitter, Tumblr, GoodreadsFacebook or official website (and probably on a lot more websites I don’t know about). Make sure to follow her! She’s amazing!

3 thoughts on “Fangirl by Rainbow Rowell – Book Review

  1. free one question psychic reading says:

    We appreciate you sharing exceptional informations.

    Your website is extremely cool. I’m stunned at the details that you’ve put
    on this web site. It unveils how perfectly you recognize this subject.
    Bookmarked this web site, will keep coming back for more articles.
    You, dude, ROCK! I found simply the information I already searched
    everywhere and simply couldn’t run into. What an ideal website.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

